Mariposa 2014 – Full Line Up Announced

The full line-up for this year’s Mariposa has been announced. The 54th edition takes place July 4-6, 2014, at Tudhope Park in Orillia. As always, we will be providing full-coverage of the festival before and after the event.

Mariposa is known for presenting the best singer-songwriters on the music scene, and this year is no exception. But notable in the line-up this year is the large number of bands and groups that will perform on the festival’s eleven stages. They hail from the South Pacific, Ireland, Australia, Cuba and many locales across Canada and the United States.

According to Artistic Director, Mike Hill, “Some of these groups rarely perform in Canada. With so many of them on the bill, this year the festival atmosphere will definitely be energetic”.

The Main Stage headliners range from the diverse, eclectic, authentic, and exciting, Ani DiFranco; to folk, pop, rock and blues artist in the Americana tradition, Rosanne Cash; to the jagged and lush sounds of HYDRA (featuring AroarA, Feist, Snowblink). It’s a varied range of headliners, just as the overall festival line-up encompasses a wide range of genres, styles and influences.

“We’re proud to present three headliners who are so influential both artistically, and as women in music”, said Mike Hill, adding that “Rosanne Cash, Ani Difranco, and HYDRA (featuring AroarA, Feist, Snowblink) represent a wonderful cross section of talent”.

With fifty renowned roots artists and more than a hundred performances over a three-day period, this year’s Mariposa Folk Festival has something for every musical taste. But there’s lots more than music. Mariposa also features audience camping, folk activities for children, an Artisans’ Village, exhibits and displays, hands-on learning opportunities, a range of carefully selected food vendors, an Emporium stocked with music, merchandise and hard-to-find collectibles, a pub tent and more. The vibe alone is worth the price of admission.

Tickets are on sale at This includes the Hot Weekend Pass for Young Adults (Ages 19-24) for only $59, and the Youth Pass (Ages 13-18) for only $15. Kids are admitted free!

Here’s the Full Fantastic Artistic Line-Up:
Ani Difranco, Ariana Gillis, Ariko, AroarA, Aviva, Beth McKean, Birds of Chicago, Carolle Bertrand, Conjunto Chappottín, Craig Cardiff, Dala, Dar Williams, Eileen Laverty Trio, Elephant Revival, Ennis, Hydra (featuring AroarA, Feist, Snowblink), Ian Tamblyn, JoJo Worthington, Keith Secola, Kim Wempe, Magoo, Maria Dunn, My Sweet Patootie, Niamh Ní Charra, Pacific Curls, Prufrock Shadowrunner, Red Wanting Blue, Rosanne Cash, Russell deCarle, Sarah Slean, Seryn, Sherry Lawson, Sugar Brown, Tammy Frederick, The Barr Brothers, The BelleRegards, The Carper Family, The Harpoonist & the Axe Murderer, The Imbayakunas, The JD Edwards Band, The Kempencelts & The Kennetts, The Most Loyal, The Paper Kites, Three Little Birds, Tim Chaisson, Todd Crowley’s Musical Petting Zoo, Trevor Gordon Hall, Union Duke, Zachary Lucky, Zydeco Loco

About the author


Host of Folk Roots Radio, Jan Hall started in Radio in 1993 at WEFT 90.1fm in Champaign-Urbana, Illinois. Folk Roots Radio (formerly Royal City Rag) debuted on CFRU 93.3fm in August 2005 before developing into a syndicated radio show. As the host of Folk Roots Radio, Jan focuses on bringing new folk, roots and blues music and the voices of upcoming and independent artists to the airwaves. Jan is also a much sought after stage host and festival emcee. In 2019, Jan Hall received Folk Music Ontario's prestigious Estelle Klein Award for her contribution to Ontario's folk music community.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Copyright © 2019. Designed by Susan Wheeler of SuzyWeb