Folk Roots Radio Episode 422: feat. Jonathan Byrd & More New Releases

Folk Roots Radio Episode 422: feat. Jonathan Byrd & More New Releases

North Carolina singer-songwriter Jonathan Byrd joins us on Episode 422 of Folk Roots Radio to chat about his latest album “Pickup Cowboy”, the wonderful follow up to his great 2014 album “You Can’t Outrun The Radio”. Pickup Cowboy features ten songs, eight Byrd originals (one a co-write with Charles Humphrey III, formerly with the Steep Canyon Rangers) and two songs by fellow singer-songwriter Matt Fockler, the inspiration for the title track. We also check out more of the new music we’ve received including releases by Belle Of The Fall, Sammy Duke, Reece Sullivan, Bob MacLean, A New Ground, Marty Kolls and Dennis Roger Reed. Check out the full playlist below.


Pickup Cowboy the new album by Jonathan Byrd was actually delayed for a couple of years, after the sad death of cellist Paul Ford – long time member of Jonathan’s backing band ‘The Pickup Cowboys’. Paul was diagnosed with a brain tumour on the last day of recording the new album, and passed away a year later. The album was finally completed in Winnipeg with the help of Joanna Miller on drums, and Alexa Dirks and Andrina Turenne on backing vocals alongside Byrd and long time multi-instrumentalist and guitarist Johnny Waken. Visit Jonathan Byrd online at


You can listen to this episode again on Soundcloud by following the link below. You can also listen to episodes of Folk Roots Radio, on demand, via iTunes, Stitcher and Tune-in Radio. (Click on the highlighted link to reach your chosen platform.)

Nicolas & The Iceni (Theme)
Lucy She Rises
Roll Right (2018, self)

Belle Of The Fall
Rise Up (2018, Sonic Trepanation Records)

Sammy Duke
Terminus (2018, Self) CDN

Reece Sullivan
A Girl With Red Hair
Wordsmith (2018, Self)

Bob MacLean
We Remember You Well
Single Malt (2018, Self) CDN

A New Ground
Forge The Sky (2018, Self) CDN

Jonathan Byrd
Pickup Cowboy
Pickup Cowboy (2018, Waterbug Records)

Interview: Jonathan Byrd discussing his new album “Pickup Cowboy” (2018, self).

Jonathan Byrd
When The Well Runs Dry
Pickup Cowboy (2018, Waterbug Records)

Jonathan Byrd
Do You Dream
Pickup Cowboy (2018, Waterbug Records)

Marty Kolls
Old Tired Road
This Life (2014, Self) CDN

Dennis Roger Reed (with Don Reed)
Up Until Now
Before It Was Before (2018, Plastic Meltdown Records)

About the author


Host of Folk Roots Radio, Jan Hall started in Radio in 1993 at WEFT 90.1fm in Champaign-Urbana, Illinois. Folk Roots Radio (formerly Royal City Rag) debuted on CFRU 93.3fm in August 2005 before developing into a syndicated radio show. As the host of Folk Roots Radio, Jan focuses on bringing new folk, roots and blues music and the voices of upcoming and independent artists to the airwaves. Jan is also a much sought after stage host and festival emcee. In 2019, Jan Hall received Folk Music Ontario's prestigious Estelle Klein Award for her contribution to Ontario's folk music community.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Copyright © 2019. Designed by Susan Wheeler of SuzyWeb