Folk Roots Radio Episode 346: Mayhemingways Interview & More New Releases

Folk Roots Radio Episode 346: Mayhemingways Interview & More New Releases

Peterborough ON’s wonderful fuzz-folk duo Mayhemingways have had a fabulous couple of years since the release of their debut album “Hunter St. Blues”. Episode 346 of Folk Roots Radio features a great interview with Benj Rowland and Josh Fewings recorded at this year’s Summerfolk. And, as always, we also check out more of the new music we’ve received, including the latest albums from Sarah Hiltz, Margo Price, Tom Savage and Broomsticks And Hammers. Check out the full playlist below.


The Mayhemingways have spent a lot of 2017 on a cross-Canada tour as side players and the support act for Bill & Joel Plaskett and their new collaboration “Solidarity”. Benj Rowland (synth. bass, accordion, banjo, guitar and vocals) and Josh Fewings (Drums, backing vocals) are now working on their sophomore release, provisionally entitled “Skipland” – the title of which comes from the fact that the Mayhemingways are now touring with a CB radio transmitter in the van and references the fact that while typically CB radio transmissions are short distance and ”line of site”, when conditions are just right, they can ‘skip’ huge distances as they bounce off the earth’s atmosphere. To learn more about the Mayhemingways, visit

And that’s all we have time for, this time around. Thanks to all the artists who share their music with us, and thank you for listening. We have a lot of great music and interviews to bring you on future shows. I hope you’ll join us!


You can listen to this episode again on Soundcloud by following the link below. You can also listen to episodes of Folk Roots Radio, on demand, via iTunes, Mixcloud, Stitcher and Tune-in Radio. (Click on the highlighted link to reach your chosen platform.)


Nicolas & The Iceni (Theme)
Lucy She Rises (Demo)
Roll Right (Pre-release, self)

Nicole Lisa Craig (formerly Nicole Coward)
Love Forever
Lift (2017, Self) CDN

Matt Patershuk
Same As I Ever Have Been (2017, Black Hen Music) CDN

Corrie Shelley
The Leaf And The Cane (2017, Self)

Sarah Hiltz
Fight Your Dark
Beauty In The Blue (2017, Self) CDN

Beyond The Pale
Ruckus (2017, Borealis Records) CDN

Jenny Ran Away In The Mud
Hunter St. Blues (2015, Self) CDN

Interview: Mayhemingways recorded at the Summerfolk Music & Crafts Festival.

Hunter St. Blues
Hunter St. Blues (2015, Self) CDN

Margo Price
A Little Pain
All American Made (2017, Third Man Records)

Broomsticks And Hammers
Mirror Box (2017, Self) CDN

Tom Savage
Burnt By The Sun
Everything Intertwined (2017, Rabid Ear Music) CDN

Drew McIvor
Through The Tangle Of Trees (2017, Self) CDN

Julian Taylor Band
Give Us A Sign
(single) (2017, Self) CDN

Mark Martyre
Never Forget You
Rivers (2017, Self) CDN

About the author


Host of Folk Roots Radio, Jan Hall started in Radio in 1993 at WEFT 90.1fm in Champaign-Urbana, Illinois. Folk Roots Radio (formerly Royal City Rag) debuted on CFRU 93.3fm in August 2005 before developing into a syndicated radio show. As the host of Folk Roots Radio, Jan focuses on bringing new folk, roots and blues music and the voices of upcoming and independent artists to the airwaves. Jan is also a much sought after stage host and festival emcee. In 2019, Jan Hall received Folk Music Ontario's prestigious Estelle Klein Award for her contribution to Ontario's folk music community.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Copyright © 2019. Designed by Susan Wheeler of SuzyWeb