Folk Roots Radio Episode 292: Bryan McPherson Interview & More New Releases

U.S. folk singer and activist Bryan McPherson joins us on this episode to chat about his music, latest album “Wedgwood” and upcoming shows in Eastern Canada. We also take a look at some of the latest new releases.

Bryan McPherson released a great album of protest songs, “Wedgwood” (OFD Records) in 2015. A passionate protest singer, Bryan’s not afraid to use his gift to tackle issues like inequality, homelessness and police brutality. The demo recordings for “Wedgewood” were originally created in a rustic shack in California; the album has a lovely enveloping feel (referencing the Wedgewood stove, Bryan used to keep him warm), even as it bristles with barely controlled anger as he sings songs of conscience about a country that he believes has lost its way. For more information about Bryan’s music, visit Photo: Augusto Haack.

Among the new releases on this episode is a first play for Stephen Fearing‘s ninth solo album “Every Soul’s A Sailor” (2017, Lowdenproud Records). Recorded in Toronto, the album focuses on different aspects of life’s journey and features some wonderfully lush and atmospheric yet sympathetic production from David Travers-Smith at the controls. Long-time friends, and the Blackie & the Rodeo Kings rhythm section, Gary Craig (drums) and John Dymond (bass) join Stephen on the album, alongside special guest Rose Cousins who lends some beautiful and ethereal harmony vocals to “Gone But Not Forgotten”.

The album even includes a rocking anti-Donald Trump song, “Blowhard Nation”. Stephen didn’t expect Trump to be elected when he wrote the song, but somehow – now the unthinkable has actually happened, the lyrics seem even more apt, and based on the cabinet he’s put together, dead on. Here’s hoping that great music helps us get through the next four years… and here’s hoping it’s just four years! For more information, visit

Thanks to all the artists who share their music with us, and thank you for listening. We have a lot of great music to bring you on future shows. I hope you’ll join us!

You can listen to this episode again on Mixcloud by following the link below. You can also listen to episodes of Folk Roots Radio, on demand, via iTunes, Soundcloud, Stitcher and Tune-in Radio. (Click on the highlighted link to reach your chosen platform.)

Nicolas & The Iceni (Theme)
Lucy She Rises (Demo)
Roll Right (expected 2016)

Rant Maggie Rant
Toast To A New Day
Latitude (2016, Self) CDN

Stephen Fearing
Every Soul’s A Sailor
Every Soul’s A Sailor (2017, Lowdenproud) CDN

Tim Moxam
Meant to Be
Soft Summer (2016, Roaring Girl Records) CDN

Ivas John
Can’t Help But Wonder Where I’m Bound
Good Days A’ Comin’ (2016, Right Side Up Records)

April Verch
Waiting for Home
The April Verch Anthology (2017, Slab Town Records) CDN

Bryan McPherson
Born On A Highway
Wedgewood (2015, OFD Records)

Interview: Bryan McPherson joins us to chat about his music.

Bryan McPherson
Days Of Rage
Wedgewood (2015, OFD Records)

Bryan McPherson
Here We Go
Wedgewood (2015, OFD Records)

Bryan McPherson
Hearts In Boxcars
Wedgewood (2015, OFD Records)

Sarah Beatty
We Will Never Be The Same
Bandit Queen (2016, Self) CDN

About the author


Host of Folk Roots Radio, Jan Hall started in Radio in 1993 at WEFT 90.1fm in Champaign-Urbana, Illinois. Folk Roots Radio (formerly Royal City Rag) debuted on CFRU 93.3fm in August 2005 before developing into a syndicated radio show. As the host of Folk Roots Radio, Jan focuses on bringing new folk, roots and blues music and the voices of upcoming and independent artists to the airwaves. Jan is also a much sought after stage host and festival emcee. In 2019, Jan Hall received Folk Music Ontario's prestigious Estelle Klein Award for her contribution to Ontario's folk music community.

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Copyright © 2019. Designed by Susan Wheeler of SuzyWeb