Episode 266: Summerfolk 2016

The 41st Summerfolk Music and Crafts Festival takes place August 19-21, in Kelso Park, on the shores of Georgian Bay, in Owen Sound ON. The festival features more than 40 musical acts from across Canada and across the world representing genres from folk, country and bluegrass, to blues, to hip-hop and funk.  And, like any great folk festival they also have lots of children’s activities, community workshops, artisan booths, dozens of food vendors… and two licensed areas. James Keelaghan, Artistic Director at Summerfolk, joins us on this episode to chat about the fabulous musical line-up. We also include music from some of the artists who’ll be at Summerfolk alongside a selection of the latest new releases.

For more information and to buy tickets visit summerfolk.org. Photo credit: Good Noise Photography

You can find the full playlist with artist links below. Please share your love for all the great folk and roots music out there. Thanks to all the artists who share their music with us, and thank you for listening. We have a lot of great music to bring you on future shows. I hope you’ll join us! You can listen to this episode again on Mixcloud by following the link below.

Nicolas & The Iceni (Theme)
Lucy She Rises (Demo)
Roll Right (expected 2016)

Monica Rizzio
A Little Time
Washashore Cowgirl (2016, Self)

Rosie Nimmo
Stop, Take A Minute
Scrapbook (2016, Kick My Heels Records)

Lucy Wainwright Roche & Suzzy Roche
Mud & Apples (2016, Self)

Kristine Schmitt
Deep in the Darkest Evening
Good Dirt (2016, Self) CDN

Ivan Rosenberg
Z Clampett
The Littlest Dobro (2016, Slosh-Tone) CDN

The Small Glories
Had I Paid
Wondrous Traveller (2016, Self) CDN

Interview: James Keelaghan, Artistic Director at Summerfolk Music and Crafts Festival, discussing the line-up for this year’s festival

Big Little Lions
Fill Me Up
Just Keep Moving (2016, Riptide Music Group) CDN

The East Pointers
Last Blank Page
Secret Victory (2015, Self) CDN

Coco Love Alcorn
Old Habits Die Hard
Wonderland (2016, Self) CDN

Grant Peeples And The Peeples Republic
Miner Poet
A Congress Of Treason (2015, Gatorbone Records)

Al Tuck
Stop Hittin’ On Louise
Fair Country (2016, Self) CDN

Daniel Crabtree
You Gotta Love God
The Gospel Road (2016, These Girls I Work For)

Brother Neil
Where Do I Go From Here
Bonfire Confessions (2014, Self) CDN

About the author


Host of Folk Roots Radio, Jan Hall started in Radio in 1993 at WEFT 90.1fm in Champaign-Urbana, Illinois. Folk Roots Radio (formerly Royal City Rag) debuted on CFRU 93.3fm in August 2005 before developing into a syndicated radio show. As the host of Folk Roots Radio, Jan focuses on bringing new folk, roots and blues music and the voices of upcoming and independent artists to the airwaves. Jan is also a much sought after stage host and festival emcee. In 2019, Jan Hall received Folk Music Ontario's prestigious Estelle Klein Award for her contribution to Ontario's folk music community.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Copyright © 2019. Designed by Susan Wheeler of SuzyWeb