Big Tobacco & The Pickers – In The Studio

Toronto’s Big Tobacco & The Pickers have been sharing their authentic old school country sound with Ontario audiences since 2008. Jamie Oliver, Blaine MacKenzie, Jason Blanchard and Anne Werbitsky from the band joined us in the studio at CFRU 93.3fm on June 20 for an in-depth conversation and a few songs from their great new album of (almost all) original songs, “The King Is Gone” – its title a tribute to the recently departed George Jones but an album that also feels the love for country greats Willie Nelson, Waylon Jennings, Johnny Cash and Merle Haggard, among others. For more information about the band visit Music: Big Tobacco & The Pickers “Freightliner Full of Sins” from “The King Is Gone” (2015, Self), “Put Your Hands Up” (Live), “In Willie We Trust” (Live), “The King Is Gone” (Live), “Last Look Back” (Live) and “Train Again” from “The King Is Gone” (2015, Self).

About the author


Host of Folk Roots Radio, Jan Hall started in Radio in 1993 at WEFT 90.1fm in Champaign-Urbana, Illinois. Folk Roots Radio (formerly Royal City Rag) debuted on CFRU 93.3fm in August 2005 before developing into a syndicated radio show. As the host of Folk Roots Radio, Jan focuses on bringing new folk, roots and blues music and the voices of upcoming and independent artists to the airwaves. Jan is also a much sought after stage host and festival emcee. In 2019, Jan Hall received Folk Music Ontario's prestigious Estelle Klein Award for her contribution to Ontario's folk music community.


Leave a comment
    • Hi Sherland,

      I really enjoying spending time with the band in the studio this weekend. I love the new album “The King Is Gone”. I’m looking forward to catching the band in concert sometime soon.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Copyright © 2019. Designed by Susan Wheeler of SuzyWeb